Skip to content

Roadtrip (Archive) (383)

Tuesday, 30 November 2004 18:00

Harry Ransom Center

Written by
Tuesday, 30 November 2004 18:00

McAllen: City of Palms

Written by
Sunday, 31 October 2004 18:00

Panhandle Plains from A to Z

Written by
Sunday, 31 October 2004 18:00

Thanksgiving Texas-Style

Written by
Thursday, 30 September 2004 19:00

The Sweet Life in Greenville

Written by
Thursday, 30 September 2004 19:00

Old Fort Davis Turns 150

Written by
Thursday, 30 September 2004 19:00

Amistad: Oasis on the Border

Written by
Thursday, 30 September 2004 19:00

Winnsboro's Autumn Trails

Written by
Tuesday, 31 August 2004 19:00

Go. See. Do! Get Started!

Written by

Big Thicket National Preserve in Kountze.

Following is contact information for the “Go. See. Do!” sites on pages 38-51 of the print magazine. We recommend that you also contact local convention and visitors bureaus and chambers of commerce for further details. To order a free copy of the Texas State Travel Guide, published by the Texas Department of Transportation, call 800/8888-TEX; www.traveltex.com. You can also find information at the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department’s Web site: www.tpwd.state.tx.us.

Austin—Austin Convention & Visitors Bureau, 866/GO-AUSTIN; www.austintexas.org.

Big Bend—Big Bend National Park, 432/477-2251; www.nps.gov/bibe/index.htm. Big Bend Ranch State Park, 432/229-3416; www.tpwd.state.tx.us. Also go to www.visitbigbend.com.

Big Sky Country—ABILENE: Abilene Convention & Visitors Bureau, 325/676-2556 or 800/727-7704; www.abilene.com/visitors. BUFFALO GAP: Buffalo Gap Historic Village, 325/572-3365; www.mcwhiney.org/buffalogap.html. SAN ANGELO: San Angelo Convention & Visitors Bureau, 325/655-4136 or 800/375-1206; www.sanangelo-tx.com.

Big Thicket National Preserve—Kountze, 409/246-2337; www.nps.gov/bith.

Central Texas Barbecue—LLANO: Llano Chamber of Commerce, 325/247-5354; www.llanochamber.org. ELGIN: Greater Elgin Chamber of Commerce, 512/285-4515; www.elgintx.com. LOCKHART: Lockhart Chamber of Commerce, 512/398-2818; www.lockhart-tx.org. LULING: Luling Area Chamber of Commerce, 830/875-3214; www.lulingcc.org. TAYLOR: Taylor Chamber of Commerce, 512/352-6364; www.taylorchamber.org.

Corpus Christi—Corpus Christi Convention and Visitors Bureau, 800/678-6232; www.corpuschristi-tx-cvb.org. PADRE ISLAND NATL. SEASHORE: 361/949-8068; www.nps.gov/pais.

Dallas—Dallas Convention & Visitors Bureau, 800/232-5527; www.dallascvb.com.

Davis Mountains—Fort Davis Chamber of Commerce, 800/524-3015; www.fortdavis.com.

Denison/Sherman/Lake Texoma—DENISON: Denison Convention & Visitors Bureau, 903/465-1551; www.denisontexas.com. SHERMAN: Sherman Dept. of Tourism, 903/893-1184 or 888/893-1188; www.shermantx.org.

El Paso—El Paso Convention and Visitors Bureau, 800/351-6024; www.visitelpaso.com.

Fort Worth—Fort Worth Convention & Visitors Bureau, 800/433-5747; www.fortworth.com.

Galveston—Galveston Convention and Visitors Bureau, 409/763-4311 or 888/425-4753; www.galveston.com.

German Hill Country—BOERNE: Greater Boerne Area Chamber of Commerce, 888/842-8080; www.boerne.org. COMFORT: Comfort Chamber of Commerce, 830/995-3131; www.comfort-texas.com. ENCHANTED ROCK STATE NATURAL AREA: 325/247-3903; www.tpwd.state.tx.us. FREDERICKSBURG: Fredericksburg Convention & Visitors Bureau, 888/997-3600; www.fredericksburg-texas.com. LUCKENBACH: 888/311-8990; www.luckenbachtexas.com. NEW BRAUNFELS: Greater New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce, 800/572-2626; www.nbcham.org.

Great Texas Coastal Birding Trail—For information on the Trail, see www.tpwd.state.tx.us/birdingtrails. To purchase Trail maps, go to http://tcebookstore.org/browse.cfm?catid=170, or call 888/900-2577.

Guadalupe Mountains National Park—Guadalupe Mountains National Park, 915/ 828-3251; www.nps.gov/gumo.

Highland Lakes—LAKE BUCHANAN and INKS LAKE: Lake Buchanan-Inks Lake Chamber of Commerce, 512/793-2803; www.buchanan-inks.com. LAKE MARBLE FALLS, LAKE LBJ: Marble Falls/Lake LBJ Chamber of Commerce, 830/693-4449 or 800/759-8178; www.marblefalls.org. (Also contact the Kingsland Chamber of Commerce for more on Lake LBJ: 325/388-6211; www.kingslandchamber.org.) LAKE TRAVIS: Lake Travis Chamber of Commerce (512/266-8333; www.laketravischamber.com); Lago Vista Chamber of Commerce (512/267-7952 or 800/328-5246; www.lagovista.org); and Austin Convention & Visitors Bureau (866/462-8784; www.austintexas.org), which can also provide information on Lake Austin. For more on the Highland Lakes, contact the Lower Colorado River Authority (512/473-3200 or 800/776-5272; www.lcra.org), or go to www.highlandlakes.com or www.highlandlakes.net.

High Plains—AMARILLO: Amarillo Convention & Visitor Council, 806/374-1497 or 800/692-1338; www.visitamarillotx.com. CANYON: Canyon Chamber of Commerce, 806/655-7815 or 800/999-9481; www.canyonchamber.org. LUBBOCK: Lubbock Convention & Visitors Bureau, 806/747-5232 or 800/692-4035; www.lubbocklegends.com.

Hill Country Swimming Holes—BLUE HOLE in Wimberley is closed for the 2004 season, but is tentatively scheduled to reopen as a public park in 2005; call the Wimberley Chamber of Commerce for updates (512/847-2201; www.wimberley.org). DEVIL'S WATERHOLE: Inks Lake State Park, 512/793-2223 (for information), 512/389-8900 (camping reservations); www.tpwd.state.tx.us. HAMILTON POOL PRESERVE: 512/264-2740; www.co.travis.tx.us/parks/hamilton_pool.asp. KRAUSE SPRINGS: Spicewood, 830/693-4181.

Houston—Greater Houston Convention and Visitors Bureau, Official Guide to Houston, 800/446-8786; www.houston-guide.com.

Jefferson area—Marion County Chamber of Commerce, 888/GO-RELAX; www.jefferson-texas.com. CADDO LAKE STATE PARK: Karnack, 903/679-3351; www.tpwd.state.tx.us. MARSHALL: Marshall Chamber of Commerce, 800/953-7868; www.marshalltxchamber.com.

Laredo—Laredo Convention and Visitors Bureau, 800/361-3360; www.visitlaredo.com.

Lost Maples/Garner Area—LOST MAPLES STATE NATURAL AREA: 830/966-3413; www.tpwd.state.tx.us. GARNER STATE PARK: 830/232-6132; www.tpwd.state.tx.us. Also go to www.hill-country-visitor.com.

Port Aransas—Port Aransas Tourist and Convention Bureau, 800/45-COAST; www.portaransas.org. ROCKPORT-FULTON: Rockport-Fulton Area Chamber of Commerce, 800/242-0071; www.rockport-fulton.org.

Rio Grande Valley—Rio Grande Valley Partnership, 956/968-3141; www.valleychamber.com.

Rodeos—You can search the Texas Highways Web site "Events Calendar" by subject, town, region, and month (www.texashighways.com/currentissue/eventscalendar.php), or call 800/452-9292 (daily 8 a.m.-6 p.m. Central Time). Also see www.pecos.net/news/pages/rodeo.htm, www.rodeohouston.com, www.sarodeo.com, www.fwstockshowrodeo.com, and www.mesquiterodeo.com.

San Antonio—San Antonio Convention & Visitors Bureau, 800/447-3372; www.sanantoniovisit.com.

South Padre Island—South Padre Island Convention and Visitors Bureau, 956/761-6433 or 800/767-2373; www.sopadre.com.

Texas State Railroad— Texas State Railroad, 903/683-2561 or 888/987-2461; www.TexasStateRR.com.

Washington County—Washington County Chamber of Commerce, 979/836-3695 or 888/BRENHAM; www.brenhamtexas.com.

Wildflowers—The Texas Department of Transportation—offers wildflower reports from around mid-March through mid-May via a hotline (800/452-9292) and a Web site (www.dot.state.tx.us/wflwr/main.htm). Texas Highways' Web site (www.texashighways.com/currentissue/eventscalendar.php) offers listings of spring wildflower events via the "Events Calendar," which is searchable by subject, town, region, and month. Other good resources include the following: Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center,—512/292-4200; www.wildflower.org. Texas Parks & Wildlife—(for information about wildflowers at Texas state parks), www.tpwd.state.us/park/wildflower.Wild Texas,—www.wildtexas.com (search for "Texas Fall Foliage & Wildflowers Web Guide"). Wild About Texas Wildflowers,—www.lnstar.com/mall/txtrails/wildflowers.

Back to top